Ubuntu for ezbook 3 rpo?

Ubuntu for ezbook 3 rpo?

TechTablets Forums Jumper Discussion EZBook series Ubuntu for ezbook 3 rpo?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    DD
    Participant

Anyone using it? or there are other better linux choices?

Finding replacement for softwares seems not that diffuclt, libre office for ms office, native chrome and vlc, plenty of pdf viewers, gimp for photoshop etc…. the drivers are my concern, though.

I am new to linux, do windows drivers which I can backup from  win 10 work for linux as well?

please advise, thanks

-----------

Peter
    Participant

I tested several of the major linux distros. Ubuntu, Solus – just run out of the box, everything works, no tweaking neccessarry. However the touchpad is a tad bit imprecise and jittery (e.g. using Chrome). Only slightly better than under Windows. So you don’t gain much compared to Windows. More or less same performance, same battery, similar user experience. Maybe a bit less hassle with the updates. And also better software choices, depending on what you prefer.

You get a better touchpad precision and responsiveness using ChomeOS (“Cloudready”) which you can download from neverware, free version. Seems to be the only Linux distro that has an advanced touchpad implementation. Feels like a different machine. After investigating a bit, it is because Google has dumped the windows manager and replaced it with their own (Freon), which more or less does nothing (so it is faster) an leaves the windowing work for Chrome, which has its own window manager, and efficiently implements smooth pixel precise scrolling.

Cloudready cannot be installed parallel to Windows though. So you would need to buy a SSD for the M.2 Slot and install it there. You can run it from USB just for testing purpose.