EzBook 3 Plus heatsink mod

EzBook 3 Plus heatsink mod

TechTablets Forums Jumper Discussion EZBook series EzBook 3 Plus heatsink mod

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Francesco
    Participant

Hi guys, i’ve ordered the EzBook 3 plus for 339€ with the cyber monday deal (shame on me for not getting the air 12 i know, but the almost 100€ price difference was a bit too steep for me).

Since the core M runs quite hot i’d like to do the heatsink mod, however i’m not an expert and the only times i’ve opened my notebook i’ve simply dusted the fan. I’ll probably stick to connecting the copper heatsink to the rear lid with a thermal pad, it’s a good idea? And how thick should the thermal pad be?

Here is the only pic i found of the internals, a shotout to @sleinad for providing it

And since i’m here are there any news on the wireless card problem?

thanks!

Francesco
    Participant

Bump

S.
    Participant

Hi, if you remove the copper lid on the right side, there is already a termal pad covering the core-m3.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    Francesco
    Participant

Thanks, however i’d rather not mess with the m3-heatsink combo, just adding a thermal pad to connect the rear lid to the heatsink. Do you think a 1mm thermal pad is thick enough?

S.
    Participant

Yeah, sould be enough.

Bloodr0se
    Participant

I have a couple of related questions if that’s OK

1. Is it right to assume that a larger-sized M.2 drive can’t be installed in this laptop because of where the slot is positioned?
    2. Is the thermal pad underneath the copper shield a silicone one and if so then would replacing it with a copper shim improve thermals/performance?

TIA

S.
    Participant

Not tested, but probably you can install a 2260 M.2 unit. For sure 2280 m.2 will not fit. Regarding the thermal pad, is a silicone one.

Bloodr0se
    Participant