F7 keeps freezing

F7 keeps freezing

TechTablets Forums Teclast Forums Teclast Laptops F7 keeps freezing

Tagged: 

• This topic has 31 replies, 11 voices, and was last updated 5 years ago by Aj.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    Ray Dollars
    Participant

Hi All,

My Teclast F7, which has worked flawlessly since February 2018 has suddenly started freezing. The only option is to hold down the power button and wait for it to reboot. None of the keyboard inputs (eg Caps Lock) respond. Application open is Chrome with a few tabs. It’s plugged into a usb hub and ethernet adaptor. The only other peripheral attached is a Microsoft ergonomic mouse.

I’m a bit of a newb when it comes to diagnosing a problem like this. I have no idea how to use the Event Viewer, so any advice gratefully received.

I’m not getting any error messages or warnings, just a cursor freeze and full lock up. Closing the lid does nothing either.

Is this a hardware issue or something else?

Ray Dollars
    Participant

I should add… the laptop never gets even slightly warm and I have fitted an SSD an migrating the OS from the eMMC drive that came as standard. It has been running like this flawlessly since february. Just started freezing two days ago.

What steps should i follow to diagnose the cause?

Chris G
    Keymaster

I would try troubleshooting it by seeing if it happens without the SSD. Full lockups can somethings in my experience can be caused by faulty SSDs. Or it can be software. So if it runs well on the eMMC with no lock ups, it would see it’s the SSD or the Windows installation.

Chris | Admin
    Please support us and help keep TechTablets online. Affiliate revenue is used to pay for the server, studio apartment (Techtablets HQ) and buy new tech to review. Without it, this site would be dead.
    Next up for review:
    Ordered and waiting for my: BMAX S15 & Teclast F6 Plus
    Currently testing: LG G8X & Redmi K30

Ray Dollars
    Participant